A Cat Spirit painting in progress

I’ve begun a painting inspired by my beloved tuxedo cat, Emily, whom we found at our wonderful local cat shelter in 2017.
My husband and I named her after our literary heroines Emily Dickinson and Emily Brontë.
She has fast become my animal totem, my Familiar, my Pakuawah * and my companion. Like so many of our special pets, she is truly a magical animal.
There is a certain sentience about her, an uncanny consciousness which shines through her beautiful golden eyes.
Such an enigma is she, that I have been inspired to create this painting. I’m about half way through.

* Pakauwah – A totem or spirit animal created by people as an extension of their own essence to support their human experience. (Adamus Saint Germain)


Process


I took a photo of Emily in one of her classic poses and used it as the basis for the multi-media artwork.


I printed the photo in reverse with my archival Epson printer onto watercolour paper, cut it out and pasted it onto Stonehenge paper to create a collage effect, then painted a doppelganger of Emily in reflection : her Cat Spirit.


Using pen and ink I begin filling in the details and movement of the composition.


The painting can be viewed either way – with Emily above and her magical Cat Spirit below or vice-versa!

It will be a fun one to finish and to print for sale in my Online Shop 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Cat Spirit painting in progress

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.